Malta and Gozo

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This landscape was like nothing I had seen before. As we flew over the sea and land I was taken back by how flat everything was, even the roof tops.  I couldn’t wait for the doors of the plane to open and feel the sun again (I live in the UK at the moment). They opened and I was bracing myself to take a big breath of fresh air, one, two…COUGH COUGH, I did NOT expect the such a high level of humidity! I was ready for the heat, but not the humidity.

We stayed in a hotel right on the beach front, it was okay, not 5* but it served its purpose.

The food was good, they have a lot of special foods like breads, cheeses etc that are unique to Malta, anything that looks Maltese, buy it, try it, that is after all what travelling is about.

I have to HAVE to mention the kind hospitality and generous nature of the Maltese people. They are truly an amazing nation. A couple I had never met before offered to be our tour guides for the week we were there and became we became great friends. They taught us to scuba dive, took us to Gozo and most importantly showed us the real culture of Malta.

The water is amazing and now that I have my scuba certification I will most certainly go back to dive the blue hole in Gozo, Google it, it’s incredible! I have a few photographs of the waves crashing over it (the weather was very rough that day).

Whether you want a calm and relaxed holiday with calm, crystal clear waters, or an exciting adventure filled holiday of exploration, hiking, diving , climbing, Malta has it all.

Leave a comment