Naples Italy

They say once you have seen Naples you can die, as your life would be complete. I am not quite sure I agree, however the buffalo mozzarella has most assuredly completed my life in terms of amazing cheese balls of goodness.

The town its self is known for mass murders, sidewalk shootings and under-aged muggings, no, only kidding, although I did feel like that’s what I should expect with the amount of warning I had for watching my hand bag and camera as the locals are apparently well trained in organised crime. However I can report I did not take my eyes of my lovely camera or my purse and coming from South Africa I am oh so aware of lurking thieves and their clever antics, nothing was stolen.

One thing I can say being a single woman in Naples was not so fun. Let just say I could have done with a nice strong prince at my side to ward of yucky old men (not all, just to maintain political correctness). We will keep it at that.

I didn’t manage to go to Pompeii, however I went to another archaeological site called Herculaneum, which was destroyed by volcanic ash. Like Pompeii, the ruins remain in perfect condition, as if the people were still there. Walking around an almost pristine town from the Roman era was quite something. This really was fascinating and I really enjoyed the trip, I felt like an explorer. It is incredible to think that all of this is only meters below the surface and that there is more thank lightly hundreds of meters of town still waiting to be discovered.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Another of my favourite outings was our trip to Solfatara, a semi active volcano (when I say active, it sort of spews out a bit of sulphur gas and bubbles mud here and there). I think the highlight for me was hovering over bubbling, gassing sulphur and bouncing up and down because my shoes were melting from the heat below. THE FUN! Now I can say to people when they ask me what’s wrong with my shoe because its melted, I can say “Oh this, well I got that standing in the middle of a volcano in Naples, because I am cool… just saying”.
The pizza (which in fact was the actual purpose of our journey; to eat good pizza) was fantastic, very different from my understanding of pizza in that the base is somewhat soft. But man was it good. The local side shops had the most amazing Parma ham, parmesan, salami and buffalo mozzarella. Local markets with fresh fish, bread and of course buffalo mozzarella really had a great atmosphere and the best tasting foods. I wish the UK had these sorts of things!
Overall it was a great trip incredible archaeology, lying around all over the town, lots of cool history and great food.

Leave a comment